Farewell to Retirees in the School

24 Nov 2017 - 14:45

On Thursday 23 November 2017 the School bid farewell to three long-standing colleagues, Prof Di McIntyre, Dr Noor Parker and Ms Narima Panday at a special occasion to acknowledge their invaluable contributions to the School.

Di McIntyre has been working at UCT since January 1988. She established the Health Economics Unit in 1990 and was its Director for 13 years.  She has provided extensive policy inputs within South Africa and other African countries, particularly in relation to health care financing issues. Her recent research has focused on how to achieve universal coverage in low- and middle-income countries and how to promote health system equity.  She has also been centrally involved in developing health economics capacity within the African region, including establishing the first health economics Masters program in Africa.  She served on the Board of the African Health Economics and Policy Association (AfHEA) and the Board of the International Health Economics Association (iHEA).  She was elected as a Foreign Associate of the National Academy of Medicine (formerly the Institute of Medicine - IOM) in 2012 and was appointed to serve as the Executive Director of iHEA from January 2016.

Noor Parker has worked at UCT as a Lecturer/Medical Officer since 2006, first as a sessional facilitator and then as a full time staff member in the Division of Family Medicine from 2008 until the present time as the Becoming a Doctor course convenor. Together with this team, he has brought about considerable innovations in the curriculum. He took over the running of the academic programme for family medicine interns in 2010 and has refined it into an interactive forum for teaching and learning. He has also successfully run the Division of Family Medicine GP Refresher Conference for a number of years.

Narima Panday will be retiring in December 2017 after 22 years of service. She has been responsible for Human Resources and academic administration in the School for 14 years.

We wish them all well in their future endeavours.

Prof Di McIntyre, Narima Panday, Dr Noor Parker & Prof Landon Myer