Top award to leading health economist, Emeritus Prof Di McIntyre

26 Mar 2019 - 13:15

In the picture, from left: Mr Pascal Birindabagabo; Dr James Akazili; Dr Olufunke Alaba; Emeritus Prof Di McIntyre; Dr Gina Teddy; Dr Leanne Brady

Emeritus Professor Di McIntyre from the Health Economics Unit received the first François Diop Award for her lifetime contributions to the advancement of health economics in Africa and indeed globally.  Di is a leading figure in health economics training and research.  Di received the award on 13 March 2019 in Accra at the just concluded African Health Economics and Policy Association (AfHEA) conference ( 

Also awarded was Dr Leanne Brady from the Division of Health Policy and Systems who introduced an innovative and participatory format and style.  Leanne received the Jane Macha Prize for Innovative Session Design.

Over 400 delegates attended the AfHEA conference from across Africa and the globe.

The School of Public Health and Family Medicine is proud of you and your achievements.