Home > About Us > Organisational Structure

Organisational Structure

School of Public Health and Family Medicine

Head of Department and Director: Professor Landon Myer

The School has 8 Divisions and 4 URC accredited Research Centres / Units


Public Health Medicine (Head: Professor Leslie London)

Family Medicine (Head: Associate Professor Derek Hellenberg)

Occupational Medicine (Head: Professor Mohamed Jeebhay)

Epidemiology and Biostatistics (Head:  Professor Landon Myer)

Health Economics (Head: Associate Professor Edina Sinanovic)

Health Policy and Systems (Head: Professor Lucy Gilson)

Social and Behavioural Sciences (Head: Associate Professor Christopher Colvin)

Environmental Health (Head: Professor Hanna-Andrea Rother)

URC Accredited Research Centres / Units:

Centre for Infectious Disease Epidemiology and Research (Director: Associate Professor Mary-Ann Davies)

Centre for Environmental and Occupational Health Research (Director: Professor Aqiel Dalvie)

Health Economics Unit (Director: Associate Professor John Ataguba)

Women's Health Research Unit (Director: Associate Professor Jane Harries)



EXCO comprises Heads of Divisions and Directors of Research Centres / Units and Portfolio Heads, Human Resources Head and Finance Administration Head as listed below.

Portfolio Heads:

Research:  Associate Professor John Ataguba

Undergraduate Teaching:  Associate Professor Tolullah Oni

Postgraduate Teaching:  Associate Professor Maylene Shung King

Information Technology:  Associate Professor John Ataguba

Space / Infrastructure:  Associate Professor Jane Harries

Transformation:  Ms Natasha Kannemeyer & Ms Nontokozo Langwenya

Human Resources Administration:  Ms Ansaaf Brink

Finance Administration:  Mrs Joy Fuller